Food Lion Week of Jan 30 and Forest store closing!

Since I’m tired of opening rejection emails from potential employers, I decided to post almost on time about this week’s healthier food sales at Food Lion.

Forest Food Lion wasted no time in closing. Their “50% off everything in the store” started today; the parking lot was slam full both times I drove by at 2:30 PM and again at about 6:00 PM. I really wanted to go in today, but there just wasn’t enough time.

I’ll go tomorrow, but I don’t hold any hope that anything good will be left. I’ll be super excited if I can get a bag of cat and/or dog food at half price, though. Fingers crossed.

Here are the healthier specials I found:

Navel oranges 4 lbs/$2.99 (great price; Kroger’s is $3.99!)

Avocados 2/$1

Garlic 2/$1

Cabbage $.43/lb.

Seedless cucumbers $1.29 each (not organic so it’s best to peel before eating)

That’s it for the healthiest choices. However, I went through my coupons today to share with my friend “Peeps” and noticed that there are many things on sale this week that match many of my coupons I’ve saved the past few weeks. Check it out and save lots! (BTW Peeps, Mio is on sale at Food Lion for $3.99 and I have a $1.00 coupon in my car for you!)

I realized when I was saving items in my “shopping list” online that I didn’t have a profile saved on the Food Lion website. I went through the process to create a new account and sync my MVP card. It was pretty cool because it gave me the option to sign up for coupons and sales notifications. But my favorite feature was when I finished my shopping list, one click sent it to my email. Awesome feature for people with smartphones.

No matter where you live, take advantage of special mailings and email offers from your local grocer. When you are doing everything you can to shave money off your food budget, these extras could really make a difference.

Till next time, stay healthy!

About Rachel

I'm a crocheting bookworm who happens to also be a coffee snob. One of many passions is to learn ways to make healthy food choices without breaking the grocery budget and sharing them with Central Virginia readers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment