Kroger and Food Lion healthy food choices 1-27

It’s been a crazy busy weekend, so I fell behind on posting. This will give you the new week for Kroger deals and this past Wednesday’s Food Lion deals that are good through tomorrow.

I hope you got the Sunday paper. It was chock full of coupons. Gotta save that cash when you can. I have to thank my dear friend Patty for saving me her paper because I had such a busy day I didn’t think of getting the paper until after 8 PM. Ever try to find a Sunday paper that late in the day? Impossible.

I hate (with a blinding passion) clipping coupons. But if you take a few minutes with Coupon Mom and her tutorials, she shows you a way to organize the flyers without clipping (until you need one).

If you can save $20-$30 off your general food bill, you will have more leeway in grocery spending on organic and whole produce and higher-quality meat.

This week, Kroger has the following good prices on better quality food.

Avocados 2/$1

Various cheeses 6-8 oz. 2/$4

Philly Cream Cheese $.99 when you buy 10 participating items (my husband will totally get 10 cream cheese blocks; he’s obsessed!)

Organic Red or Golden Delicious apples 2 lbs./$3

Organic navel oranges $3.99/4 lb. bag

Traditional Medicinals tea $3.49

Simple Truth Greek yogurt $1 (I have not looked at these yet, so check ingredients and use your own discretion for sugar content and fructose.)

Food Lion specials that are good through tomorrow, Tuesday, January 39:

Organic milk $3.29 1/2 gal.

Red grapefruit 5 lbs./$3.99

Mangoes $.81 each

Melons 2/$5

Fresh Basil $1.89

Garlic 2/$1

Cucumbers $.67 each (they are not organic so be sure to peel them before eating to reduce exposure to pesticides.)

Both stores had a few good prices on meat. I will probably go for the Kroger ground chuck at $1.99/lb. and a pork tenderloin roast for $2.99/lb. I am not sure if Kroger uses additives for their ground chuck, but I’ve not run across any gross gristle.

I can’t believe I haven’t told you about this yet. I guess because I haven’t been the one to buy it lately so it hasn’t come to mind. Food Lion carries an awesome whole bean coffee that isn’t expensive and it’s organic! First Colony Discoveries Organic Rainforest Blend coffee beans is 24 oz. and runs about $13.49 I believe. I’m a self-professed coffee snob and if it passes my palate, it’s good! They usually store it on the top shelf on the end of the coffee section and it is in a clear, thick plastic resealable bag. If you use whole bean coffee, try it and tell me your opinion.

If you haven’t already, like Health Nut on Facebook and add them to your newsfeed. You’ll find many great deals for whole and organic nutrition from the little store in Wyndhurst. I realized last week that the reason I didn’t know about their sales and deals was because I didn’t have “get notifications” checked on preferences. Facebook regularly messes with the system so you have to keep up with the changes.

This week, my intention is to discuss salt and it’s benefits and drawbacks. I’d also like to create an easy recipe and meal that you can feed your family that totally beats a McD’s drive thru meal for about the same amount of money!

Although, I’ve already admitted how my good intentions have a habit of turning out…

About Rachel

I'm a crocheting bookworm who happens to also be a coffee snob. One of many passions is to learn ways to make healthy food choices without breaking the grocery budget and sharing them with Central Virginia readers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kroger and Food Lion healthy food choices 1-27

  1. April says:

    I like the looks of that “Rain forest coffee”. I gave up my organic coffee because I thought I could be frugal and buy regular….BUT, I read how it’s raised, etc. and decided that was NOT a good idea. I’ll look for that. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

