My Percival’s Isle Experience and This Week’s Healthy Deals

How crazy is it that we’ve had temps in the low 70’s in the middle of January?!

In fact, it unnerved my husband so much that he dragged me out to the river walk down on Percival’s Isle yesterday and made me walk a mile.

Percival's Isle river walk downtown Lynchburg

Percival’s Isle river walk downtown Lynchburg

He’s not an exercise junkie and neither am I. But he knows that I have been very unhappy with the pudgy results of spending nearly two years in a boot,  in a wheelchair, with a walker, or on crutches due to Achilles pain and surgery.

My husband must really, truly love me to motivate me on a walk because I was a big whiner.

I must say, after the walk was over (he refused me even the smallest shortcut across the parking lot), I was glad he dragged me (read: kicking and screaming) down there.

Now I know what the walk is like. It’s easy.

No monumental hills unless you want to go off the nice, flat, blacktopped path to go down the dirt path to the river. And that’s not really that big. Seriously. I saw a three-year-old and his grandmother navigating that “difficult” path while pushing a stroller.

I admit, however, to feeling bitter while my sweaty self was leaning and wheezing against the quarter-mile marker.

Why? A man jogged by.

Was he buff? A jock? Training for sports? Probably not. However, this man could give Methuselah a run for his money on the prize for the oldest living human.

Therefore, I seriously need to buck up. If a three-year-old, his grandmother, and Methuselah can do it, so can I.

And, by the way, so can you!

If you have mobility issues or need an easy place to start a walking exercise program, Percival’s Isle river walk has my stamp of approval. Wheelchairs could easily navigate through the main walkway. There are plenty of places to stop and rest. If you only want to go a short distance, it’s easily done.

Anyway, back to the task at hand. Here are the healthy deals I found in today’s Kroger circular:

Kroger frozen vegetables 10/$10 (although, aren’t they usually? The circular states that you only get that price with your Kroger card.)

Simple Truth chicken 20% off

Simple Truth organic salad varieties 5-9 oz. $2.99

Simple Truth organic butter $3.99/lb

Simple Truth organic yogurt 32 oz 2/$6

Simple Truth organic beans 15 oz can 10/$10 (my only note is that, unless specified, cans have lining with BPA and can be very detrimental to your health. I do not know first-hand if Simple Truth has BPA-free cans or not.)

Cascadian Farm organic cereal or bars $2.99

EnviroKidz organic cereal or bars 2/$5

Simple Truth organic pizza 2/$9

Horizon organic milk 1/2 gal $3.79

Horizon single serve choc and van milk 10/$10

Grapefruit and navel oranges 8 lb/$5.99

Organic Braeburn apples $1.79/lb

Eggplant 10 lbs/$10 (Um. Ten pounds of eggplant? Not for me! But perhaps they will allow $1 per pound if you don’t buy 10 lbs?)

Kroger cream cheese 10/$10

Private Selection turkey is on sale for $.99/lb, but check for hormone/antibiotic free. If it is, it’s a great option to cook and store the meat for fast and easy use later in casseroles and other family meals.

If you have pets, today’s paper has a coupon for Purina One Beyond. It’s one of the few foods that I like to feed Lazarus (my long-haired black cat) and Daisy (my Shih-Tzu dog). There are no corn or wheat ingredients.

I also want to encourage you to take advantage of other coupon sites that help you match up the rest of your grocery needs. If you can save money in one area, you can splurge in other areas by integrating more organics and whole foods into your diet.

If you have the means and resolution to do so, trash everything in your cupboards and spend hundreds of dollars a week buying strictly organic and whole foods. Don’t let me stop you.

But if you are anything like me, changing from a fast-food-and-mostly-instant meal options to a healthier lifestyle of eating doesn’t happen overnight. That’s the point of this blog.

I’ve learned a lot about about healthy food over the past few years and I can say that my everyday diet still has a lot of room for improvement.

I promise: Next post I will provide some information about why GMO food is something that we should avoid as much as possible!

Have a great week!

About Rachel

I'm a crocheting bookworm who happens to also be a coffee snob. One of many passions is to learn ways to make healthy food choices without breaking the grocery budget and sharing them with Central Virginia readers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

